ELEAGUE season 2 lineup is now complete!

The stage is set for the second instalment of Turner’s ELEAGUE after the last participants had confirmed their place through the North American Preliminaries.

The 16 teams joining ELEAGUE season two are:

  • Pro, Fnatic, mousesports, Na’vi, Astralis, Team EnVyUs, NiP, Cloud9 (Season 1 top 8)
  • ALTERNATE aTTax, Dignitas, FaZe Clan, G2 (EU Preliminaries)
  • Echo Fox, Immortals, OpTic Gaming, SK Gaming (NA Preliminaries)

The eight teams who reached the playoffs last season—Virtus.pro, Fnatic, Mousesports, Na’Vi, EnVyUs, Cloud9, Astralis and Ninjas in Pyjamas— received automatic invites. The other 16 teams were separated out into their regions and joined by other teams in open qualifiers.

The last to make it into the tournament were Echo Fox, Immortals, OpTic Gaming, SK Gaming, who managed to grab the four available North America spots.

The North American qualifier included 11 sides from the first ELEAGUE season, including SK Gaming. The Brazilians had been removed from the tournament after acquiring the lineup of Luminosity Gaming.

They had a relatively easy path to qualification, beating open qualifiers Muffin Lightning before eliminating fellow season one competitors NRG eSports without dropping a map in either match. This year’s double major winners now look set to be one of the favourites to win the second season.

Immortals are one of just two new entrants for the second season of ELEAGUE. Many felt the team had been were overlooked for season one while still under the banner of Tempo Storm, even as echoed their countrymen SK Gaming with a clean sweep of 2-0 victories against Blight Gaming and Team SoloMid.

Though there were no upsets for the Brazilian sides, Echo Fox surprised Team Liquid to take a 2-1 win and rejoin ELEAGUE. Echo Fox will be the only one of the first season’s bottom six sides to return for the second season.

Optic Gaming clinched the final place with a 2-0 win over Renegades.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.