TWC lineup confirmed after European qualifiers

The nations competing in The World Championships (TWC) 2016 have been decided following the conclusion of its European qualifiers.

The international Counter-Strike: Global Offensive tournament will run from October 6 to 9, and features eight countries from around the globe competing for $100,000 in prizemoney and national pride.

The following are the nations competing in TWC 2016:

  • Tunisia
  • Canada
  • Singapore
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • Kazakhstan

The final entries into the event came through the European qualifiers after three stages, the last of which started with four GSL groups of four. Most of the favourited teams had been able to qualify, aside from Russia, whose squad exited the competition early following losses to Belgium and Turkey.

Sweden, whose lineup boasts formidable players from natic, GODSENT, NiP and Epsilon, powered through into the final virtually unimpeded to secure a spot. They did so without losing a single map in the process.

Denmark was the other finalists following victories against Belgium and a strong French lineup. Curiously, the latter then fielded a roster without any of the members of EnVyUs and G2 in the third-place decider versus Kazakhstan, who edged the Frenchmen following a narrow five-map affair.

Meanwhile, the format of the 100,000 event is expected to be announced later this week.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.