ELEAGUE to introduce Swiss format in 2017 major

The Swiss format will be used at the ELEAGUE Major Main Qualifier and in the group stage at the ELEAGUE Major.

As ELEAGUE Major 2017 kick-off in two-months time, a tweet by the VP of ELEAGUE revealed that the Swiss format will be used in the ELEAGUE Major Main Qualifier taking place from December 15-18. ELEAGUE Major’s group stage will also use the same format – the first time that it is used at a Major.

The Swiss-system has only seen use in the previous Major Main Qualifier, which took place in Katowice before ESL One Cologne.

Now, the ELEAGUE Major Main Qualifier, featuring sixteen teams, will continue using the same format, whereby teams will never face each other more than once and will be paired according to similar records.

Teams with a flawless win to loss ratio will be admitted to the quarter-finals of the tournament, while the mid and low ratio teams will battle it out until four teams remain.

Currently, eight teams have been decided to participate at the tournament. They are the teams that reached the top eight placements at the previous major, ESL One: Cologne 2016, and officially dubbed as Legends. The eight of them are:

  • SK Gaming
  • Virtus.pro
  • Astralis
  • Gambit Gaming
  • Na’Vi
  • Team Liquid
  • Fnatic

The remaining eight teams will be selected via the Major qualifier that will take place on the 15th-19th of December at the Turner Studios in Atlanta, Georgia, United States. Sixteen teams from across the world will battle it out in the very same Swiss format, with eight teams that will survive and subsequently challenge the Legends.

However, news on whether the ELEAGUE Major itself will feature a sixteen-team or two eight-team Swiss groups has not been  released as of yet.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.